The Garden Winds Down

Zinnia...I wonder if those are critters having a snooze between the petals.

Can you stand another post about the garden? It’s not even that my garden is all that unusual, but like every garden it is unique because it changes constantly from hour to hour and from day-to-day.

The broccoli just wants to flower and put out seeds.

In the beginning the plants were so small and fragile and by the middle of the summer they had grown into healthy looking plants and it was absolutely gorgeous. The foliage was so lush and so multicoloured. But now, a month later,  it’s quite wild and overgrown. The plants are trying their best to put out the last of their fruits and I suppose to gain immortality.

The vegetable garden is a jungle.

The garden is in its last throes of production and is looking quite exhausted. It’s interesting seeing all those changes like the end of the beautiful  bean plants.

It is truly time to pull the bean plants.

I’m not really a morning person. I like the idea of getting up early but I like staying up late even more, which makes getting up early a challenge!

But over the last week I’ve pushed myself to get up early and to get outside and paint before all the glorious  flowers come to an end.  I am discovering how magical early morning is.

These thistle-looking flowers bloomed a beautiful purple in early August.

There is a heavy dew covering all the plants. I walked through the garden and soaked my shoes!

The dew exposes little webs everywhere.

All the photos in this post today were taken early in the morning when dew covered all the plants.

The asparagus looked like a crinoline that a garden-fairy might wear.

My asparagus at the end of year 2.

The light changes at this time of year and the shadows are long in the morning. The wildflowers around our house are full of burgundy seed pods and contrast so well with the golden rod.

The Goldenrod moves like a dancer in the wind.

I set up my painting gear outside it but it’s hard to not to feel panicked at how quickly everything is changing and how obviously the growing season is coming to an end.

Setting up my easel and canvas in the garden.

I realize that once again I have missed many opportunities to paint this summer but at the same time I have to remind myself how many opportunities I have taken advantage of.

I started this painting in the spring and added Nicotiana to it yesterday. ;-)

It’s always a balancing act between painting and gardening and socializing… I don’t know if I’ll ever get the formula right.

I MUST paint this type of scene before it's gone.

In a month from now the leaves will be finishing turning and then it will be time to move into the studio for the winter.

Garden in winter.

For now it feels so precious to be able to enjoy these last days and weeks of blooms.

Zinnia.

Ligularia.

9 thoughts on “The Garden Winds Down

  1. Flora, I’m so glad that you posted these “winding down” photos. It’s all part of the process. I visited your home in August (you weren’t home), and it’s a treat now to be able to place everything in your photos from my visit. You live a charmed life!

  2. Hi Flora,
    I dropped by and met you at the Bear River Farmer’s Market this summer. Hopefully I’ll see your garden in person some day…you are an inspiration for me! Do you know the total size of the garden? And…how much asparagus did you plant? (that’s next on my list for the veggie garden)
    Have you thought about having a painting workshop? I love your style!

  3. Boy, you could have warned me that you were putting in a shot of winter ! I could have closed my eyes while I scrolled past. ;-)

    Early morning is a lovely time of day. Your garden is wonderful. My tomatoes are still GREEN.

    Love the shadow shot of you and easel.

  4. Flora, me again, looking at the remarkable way you have added the delicate September nicotiana to your earlier garden picture; it is a work of such depth and anyone enjoying it would know that here is a painter who really knows about gardens.Then the zinnias! Don’t you think that the centre of a zinnia is like nothing else on earth? When I found out that they will grow anywhere, I planted them in pots on indoor window-sills and scattered spare seeds in my small garden.The revelation off that extraordinary centre to a vivid flower was quite a surprise.Thank you for reminding me .Love from our so-far pale autumn in England to you all in colourful Bear River.Audrey.

  5. Hello Margaret! I’m sorry I missed you. Larry mentioned that you had stopped by. I hope you are enjoying this warm fall weather where you are.

  6. Hi Sara,
    I remember seeing you at the market and talking about staking tomatoes. By the way, it was a good system to ‘train’ them up the metal fence, only I didn’t keep it up …. tying them up so some flopped over and wound up touching the ground where they were more suseptible to insects. Still, they did much better than the caged tomatoes. Next year I’ll use the ‘fence’ method again only I’ll try to be more responsible about tying them up!!
    I only planted 12 asparagus plants and I think I lost 2. It takes a good 3 years until you are supposed to pick and eat the spears, so I only picked 2 this year to taste. They seem very easy to grow, but take time to be prolific. I don’t really know what I’m doing….it’s all a big experiment! Would you be interested in a watercolour or acrylic workshop? I have been asked many times and I’m thinking about it over the winter. ;-) A workshop that Larry and I really are interested in giving is on copper enamelling. I will post any information about any possible workshops right here!

  7. Sybil…ha ha ha….did you get a bit of s – n – o – w or ice pellets a couple of days ago? Shocking! It certainly made us appreciate the warm weather yesterday and today!. I hope you get a few red ones. Maybe they’ll ripen inside??

  8. Hello Audrey. I agree with you that the centres of zinnias are so interesting in their complexity. In fact, the whole darned flower is such a mathematicians dream. The patterning is almost reptilian. Imagine growing them on indoor windowsills! Was this in winter? I assumed they needed direct light. I am so pleased with them because they were very slow to start and I didn’t think they’d amount to much. Now I want to try several varieties next year.
    The leaves are starting to turn here, but so far the strong autumn colours aren’t here yet. I hate to see the summer come to an end, yet the crisp fall air and the seed pods and fall colours are beautiful too. Audrey, please start a blog ….it would be wonderful for us to read it. xoFlora

  9. Pingback: Fall and Winter Garden Planting | Coffee Grounds to Ground

Leave a Reply

