The Harvest is In

P1370589

My favorite pumpkins in terms of flavor, texture and storing are these Luxury Winter pumpkins. I get my sees at Hope Seeds in Nova Scotia.

Canadian Thanksgiving this past weekend truly marked the end of the harvest. The garden this year produced wonderful beans and squash and leeks.  The long cold month of July slowed the development of tomatoes and I’ve had to ripen most of them indoors.

My favorite pumpkins produced well and Larry and I will be eating lots of pumpkin soup this winter.

P1370592

Homemade bread, soup and salad from the garden. The perfect meal.

This is the very end of the tomatoes, beets and zucchini. When finished, I’ll grind them and use them to layer casseroles, or add stock and make soup or heat and add to pasta with sharp cheese.

Roasted vegetables will become the most delicious tomato sauce..probably the most versatile ingredient in my freezer.

Roasted vegetables will become the most delicious tomato sauce..probably the most versatile ingredient in my freezer.

The leaves are turning and the sun is getting is low.

P1370664

My outdoor dryer is still working. ;)

The nights are very cool and we’ve had to light the wood stove in the evenings.

P1370612

I love the smell of a wood fire. It’s one of many reasons we moved from the city 6 years ago.

The trees know it’s time to hibernate.

P1370625

The sumach haven’t hit that hot red colour this year. They have a more muted brownish-red. It’s cool having an opportunity to notice the subtle differences from year to year.

Have a colourful autumn and a good end of harvest celebration where you are.

5 thoughts on “The Harvest is In

  1. Dear Flora:
    I think the presentation of your food looks like another
    form of artistry from you.

  2. Sybil…I am thrilled that we get to grow some of our food ourselves. The thrill is tempered by blackflies at planting time, giant weeds, eating insects, drought and floods…..but at the dinner table all that fades away. ;)

  3. Helen, thank you. I try to think about composing my photos as I’m taking them and there is little here that doesn’t get edited before publication using iphoto.

Leave a Reply

