Leek and Swiss Chard Pie

I grew some swiss chard this summer. Part of the reason was that I loved the idea of growing a ‘rainbow’ variety that had stocks of many colours. But I didn’t really eat much of it because I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Besides which, I had lots of beans growing which I prefer.

Swiss chard bouquet. ;)

Swiss chard bouquet with cabbage. ;)

But now that there was nothing left in the garden except for swiss chard and leeks,  they suddenly became coveted vegetables. Only, what to do with them together?  Oh isn’t the internet a wonderful thing? After searching online using the words “leeks + swiss chard + recipe” , I found a ‘Tart’ on Martha Stewart’s site. http://www.marthastewart.com/313566/leek-and-swiss-chard-tart

Rainbow swiss chard. The seeds are from Veseys.

Rainbow swiss chard. The seeds are from Veseys.

There are still quite a few leeks in the ground and they can withstand repeated freezings before they HAVE to be pulled. It’s nice to have something green outside.

I love the delicate onion flavour of leeks. Even so, I was reluctant to use 4 cups of sliced, sauteed leeks in the filling for fear it would be too strong, but the recipe was just right!

After I slice the leeks, I wash them in water in the sink to get rid of any garden dirt.

I slice the leeks first and then wash them in water in the sink to get rid of any garden dirt.

The recipe suggests you make pastry for a tart, which sounds like a very deep pie. Instead, I used a frozen pie shell and that worked well. I also substituted Gruyere cheese for old white Cheddar, which is what I had on hand.

Leek and swiiss chard pie.

Leek and swiss chard pie.

The photo doesn’t do it justice at all. This pie is DELICIOUS. I’ll be planting even more swiss chard next year, for sure.

PS: Last night after I wrote this post, we had a very deep freeze. Here are the remaining leeks:

Leeks with Horfrost

Leeks with Horfrost

P1380166

4 thoughts on “Leek and Swiss Chard Pie

  1. Chard is a fall treat, not much good until the weather turns cold – in my mind. Steam a mound of it, lay it in a backing dish. Spread mozzarella over the top, garnish with sesame seeds if desired. Put under broiler until cheese bubbles – and before seeds scorch – then EAT! Very more-ish.

  2. Flora, the wonderful thing about gardening is there is always, “next year”. I’ve never grown either but plan to, “next year”.

  3. Phyllis grew Swiss chard at the lake and when we would go in August, would eat tons of it. I liked it fried with a bit of garlic and toss some Parmesan on. P mostly just steamed and ate with butter, s and p. Nothing like from the garden to the plate.

Leave a Reply

