What to do with all that Squash and Pumpkin?

I have some beautiful winter luxury pumpkins and dumpling squash that I’ve harvested. I love the flavour of squash, but there’s only so much baked squash a person can eat. And if I turn all that pumpkin into pies…well that’s not a great health move either.

This pumpkin has another month to grow.

This pumpkin has another month to grow.

Because they are the same family, anytime a recipe calls for squash, you can substitute pumpkin.

Which is what I did using this recipe that I found online.

I made a few changes to it. I left out the flour, instead substituting it with ½ cup of corn meal and ½ cup of oat flakes. I added fresh basil leaves too.
I baked the pumpkin first and then scooped out the pulp for this recipe. I used about 2 cups of pumpkin.
pumpkin1

Then, instead of frying it, I baked it in the oven. I put parchment paper on a cookie sheet and then spread a thin layer of olive oil on the paper. I bake it in the oven for 30 min at 350, then turn them and bake another 5 minutes.

The flavor is out of this world. It’s kind of like a potato latke. So, a dab of apple sauce or chili sauce tastes wonderful on top. Tomato sauce works too!
pumpkin2

This lends itself for freezing for those evenings when you need to throw together a meal in a hurry.

Meanwhile, here are some photos of the gorgeous hoarfrost that will soon end when the temperatures continue to drop.

P1380158

Kale growing out of the old cold frame.

Cabbage waiting to become Borscht soup.

Cabbage waiting to become Borscht soup.

P1380190

One thought on “What to do with all that Squash and Pumpkin?

Leave a Reply

