First Day in Bear River

This was our first day in our new, temporary home in Nova Scotia and the day was full.

We waited from 8 am for the phone and internet to get hooked up, by 2 separate companies. We delayed eating and finally sat down for lunch at 2:30 and they arrived within 20 minutes of each other.

The fellow hooking up the phone was a staunch union supporter. (As am I.) He told us that his union local was decimated when “Ma Bell” took over all the services. He’s felt bitter since the last strike; feels disconnected from the new union. “The union bosses came to talk to us from Toronto and they looked and sounded no different from management. They were all wearing suits….imagine that, suits! We were used to guys who bang their fists on the table and give you the straight goods”.

dsc00018.jpg
This is what they have to do to hook up your telephone in Bear River.
dsc00020.jpg
This is what they have to do to hook up your high-speed internet in Bear River.

We called our moving company and our stuff will be delayed a few days. Seems there were some boxes for customs on the truck and everything is locked up while that part of the shipment gets checked?

dsc00005.jpg
The movers are Nova Scotians and were very accommodating.

If this was the 70’s, my marxist father would have thought this was a rouse for the RCMP to go through my entire life and my mom and dad’s and my/their boxes of letters, photos, diaries etc. And perhaps it was!

After some home-made soup for supper we went to see the newly formed youth centre. It was delightful….youth shooting pool and loud music and crawling babies and puppies on the wide, plank, wooden floors. The newly hired supervisor and a parent sat around a battered table and talked about how to raise funds to meet the wish list of stuff for the centre.

After that we wandered over to the Oakdene Centre, the former elementary school to sit in on the Bear River Music Society meeting. This group is trying to get a ‘coffee house’ live music thing going in town as a way of supporting local musicians and enhancing the quality of cultural life. Several artist friends were there and we are invited to drop in sometime. Bear River is such a welcoming community and Larry and I are amazed and happy about this.

As excited as I feel about our big change, I feel a bit like the cat. Where are my things? Where the hell am I? Where did my house go? Where is my routine? Where are all my friends? Why does everything smell different? Where is all my stuff? It reminds me of how I felt homesick at summer camp and missed my mother fiercely and would talk her into letting me come home early only to regret it 2 days after I returned because I really wanted to be at camp hiking through the creek, laughing with friends, and being in the countryside.

Last night, for the first time in years, I had 2 dreams, one about my dad and one about my mom. How special is that? I only remember a little about the dream with my dad. We were working on creating an archive about him and his life and I was going to record him. I realised I was moving to NS and wondered where I would find time to pack and to interview him. Then I remembered, practically, that he wasn’t alive anymore so my departure wouldn’t interfere with the interview. I guess they both made the trip! He was very glad that I was going to do something with his ‘papers’. I would like to create a multi-media online space that uses some of the letters and photos that I have of him and other family members. I really have enough materials (and now so does the RCMP) to mine for many years. That is very exciting.

Another source of excitement is that everywhere you look here, there is a potential painting. I am so excited and can’t wait to pull out my watercolours (in the RCMP truck) and to get going!

dsc09988-1.jpg
The hardest part of this trip has definitely been Fluffy!  She was quite distressed in the car and spent hours meowing, coughing up, and cowering in her cage.

Both Larry and I feel like we were ‘getting away with’ something by sneaking out-of-town to chase our dream.

Larry and I will have the chance to work creatively 24/7, for the first time in our lives. What an extraordinary gift we are about to receive. We will be doing this in one of the most beautiful spots in Canada. We have already met with and connected to some wonderful, funny, creative and generous artists and others in Bear River which is also amazing. And it looks like we’re going to get away with it too!

Will we adjust to life without an imposed 9-5 regime? Will we adjust to life in a small community?

Well, it’s late and I must try to get some sleep before the cat wakes me at 3 am.

2 thoughts on “First Day in Bear River

  1. You definitely are a smarty-pants and I know that Manitoba is the epi-centre of the continent which is where you must have learned all those clever things!
    xoxoxo ps: come and visit SOOON.

  2. Yay-sus!! A whole friggin blog, with all the bells and whistles, PLUS quelle raconteur vous ete(??are??)! Loved the part about feeling like the cat (oe Alice as in “where did my house go?”, and the RCMP guys in the truck look just like real movers. I wasn’t the smarty pants was i?? I mean, I’, from manotoba where the tides just stay right where they’re put.
    love dianne

Comments are closed.