Brier Island Trails

Most long weekends in August we camp on Brier Island with Bear River friends.

It’s very low key…shared food, mostly vegetarian, cooked over the campfire or propane stove, sleeping in tents, nature walks, and lots of talks and laughter and bird watching and telling stories and sharing ideas and catching up.

One of my favorite delights is to fall asleep listening to the ocean waves. Or is it waking up to the haunting calls of seals?

Come with me down the green path…..

P1420203

 

Along the bumpy ridge…..

P1420168

Past the living tidal pools……
P1420187

 

Along the craggy shoreline…….P1420180

Past the basalt lava flow that reaches all the way to Blomidon.P1420177

 

Past the rising tide…….P1420120Past the ocean waves……

P1420064

Follow your nose……

P1420107

Past the wild and fragrant Roses…..

P1420060

We might be under shelter…

P1420023

…or checking out the new, lone teepee…

DSCN3673

..or riding bikes….

P1420031

…or searching…

P1420043

…or watching the sun set…

P1420146

…or at the campfire…

P1420163

…or walking through fields of wildflowers

P1420045

…or imagining a new painting….

P1420024

…or waiting for a ferry to go home.

 

P1420205

4 thoughts on “Brier Island Trails

  1. OK your wonderful photos have convinced me. Next time I go to Brier Island I’m camping. I love Brier Island and all that wonderful Basalt and the Seals and the Birds and the ocean and … and … and…

  2. Oh, what a lovely vicarious weekend you have given me! It makes me eager to go camping myself, and I will be right after Paint the Town. I am hoping to camp on B.I. Labour Day weekend, to get away from the noise of visiting Wharf Rats. If not there, somewhere else quiet.

Leave a Reply

