Japanese Anemone at the Historic Gardens in Annapolis

In the Historic Gardens at Annapolis Royal last week, I spotted a tall Japanese Anemone with a lovely curly branching habit.

P1420569

The gardens in Annapolis are exquisite…from wild and generous, to deliberate and precise. I walked through the quiet little woods, past the fragrant roses.

P1420568

I pulled out my sketchbook and a fat marker and stood and drew the Japanese Anemone at eye-level. By the time this sketch was done, I knew I had to find one of these gorgeous flowers for my garden.

Anemone drawing © Flora Doehler, 2014
Anemone drawing © Flora Doehler, 2014

When I got home, I added watercolour to my drawing. The original blooms were much paler than this, but I wanted a deeper colour.

Anemone drawing © Flora Doehler, 2014
Anemone drawing © Flora Doehler, 2014

I have tracked down some Japanese Anemones close to home and I’ll be picking them up tomorrow at Bunchberry Nurseries.

One thought on “Japanese Anemone at the Historic Gardens in Annapolis

  1. I love your drawing with the water colours. Beautiful. I thought I had Columbine plants in my garden … turns out that they’re Japanese Anemone. 😉

Comments are closed.